Tuesday, June 4, 2013

What to Read Next: BEA Speed Dating

     I've just returned from BookExpo America, the largest annual trade show where publishers showcase their new titles for booksellers, librarians, media members and book industry professionals.  I saw plenty of celebrities (Jim Carrey, Snookie and Grumpy Cat, to name a few), met famous authors (like Elizabeth Gilbert and Scott Turow) and schmoozed with some of publishings' biggest bigwigs.  I also attended several seminars and panel discussions.  One of my favorites was the Book Group Speed Dating sponsored by ReadingGroupGuides.com.

     For the session, I sat at a round table with other sellers, librarians and  book group leaders.  Every nine minutes a different publisher representative rotated to our table to preview upcoming titles.  Each presenter's enthusiasm was contagious, and although I know I won't get to all of them, here are some of the books I'm especially looking forward to reading:
    
Guests of Earth
by Lee Smith
On sale:  October 15th
Algonquin

"A haunting novel about art, women, and madness that looks at the fine line between sanity and insanity and the relationship between mental illness and artistic genius."




 The Explanation for Everything
by Lauren Grodstein
On Sale:  September 3rd
Algonquin
 
"An evolutionary biology professor's life is turned up
side down when a young female student asks him to supervise her independent study in intelligent design."



The Lion Seeker
by Kenneth Bonert
On Sale:  October 15th
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

"In the tradition of the great immigrant sagas, The Lion Seeker brings us Isaac Helger, son of Lithuanian Jewish immigrants, surviving the streets of Johannesburg in the shadow of World War II."  According to Carla Gray of Houghton Mifflin, this is the kind of novel that punches you in the gut and leaves you gasping.





Once We Were Brothers
by Ronald H. Balson
On Sale:  October 8th
St. Martin's Press
 
"A self-published bestseller.  Once We Were Brothers is the compelling tale of two boys and a family who struggle to survive in war-torn Poland and a young love that incredibly endures through the unspeakable cruelty of the Holocaust.  Two lives, two worlds, and sixty years converge in an explosive race to redemption that makes for an enthralling tale of love, survival, and ultimately the triumph of the human spirit."  We sell out of this book as soon as it comes in.  St.  Martin's will be publishing it in October with a new cover.



Necessary Lies
by Diane Chamberlain
On Sale:  September 3rd
St. Martin's Press

Necessary Lies is set in North Carolina during a time of state-mandated sterilizations.  The novel explores "how can you know what you believe is right, when everyone is telling you it's wrong."





     These books are just a tiny sampling of the wonderful titles coming out this fall.  If you or your book club are looking for specific genres or more suggestions, please contact me and I'll send you a title list.  I have three cartons of books coming, many of which I'll be giving away. 

     Until next time, happy reading!

     (By the way, all quoted material above was provided by the respective publishers.)







 

4 comments:

Susan Elizabeth said...

I've considered attending a literary speed dating event (Strand hosts them frequently), but have yet to try it. Thanks for the reading ideas - adding Guests on Earth and Necessary Lies to my TBR list!

Scout said...

I love Lee Smith and can't wait to read her new novel (in October, yak!). It makes me want to go back and read "Fair and Tender Ladies". Great suggestion, Miriam.

Beth F said...

Wow -- it was like we were at two different sessions!

Miriam said...

That's what makes BEA Speed Dating so much fun. To see what Beth found, check out:

www.bethfishreads.com